Short Biography

Prof Ts Dr Mohd Hamdan Ahmad is currently the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Development) Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM). UTM is a premier Research University focusing in Science and Technology. He was the first Dean of Faculty of Built Environment and Surveying (FABUlous) (2018-2020), the last Dean of Faculty of Built Environment (FABulous) (2017-2018). He was UTM Director of MIT UTM Malaysia Sustainable Cities Program (MIT UTM MSCP) ( (2013-2018) and also former Executive Director of the Institut Sultan Iskandar (UTM ISI) (2009-2017), where ISI is a wholly owned company of UTM with core business in research and consultancy focusing in urban habitat and sustainability. His research and consultancy focus in sustainable cities and architecture design, building climatology, smart low carbon cities and architecture education. He has contributed in many green developments and practices including involvement in the Low Carbon Society of Iskandar Malaysia 2025 and Low Carbon Society for Kuala Lumpur 2030 blueprints; development of various public parks such as Hutan Bandar Johor Bahru, Taman Merdeka Johor Bahru, Linear Park Johor Bahru and Taman Tropika in UTM; and other sustainable project developments. He is also a green building promoter and consultant affiliated to GreenRE, Casbee Iskandar Malaysia, GBI and prominent judge for Green Accord Initiative Award (GAIA) Iskandar Malaysia. He developed two experimental houses within UTM Campus: An Eco-house (Nichias Eco-House), a hybrid low energy house system funded by Nichias Corporation Japan; and Door House for the Poor (ODOORS), an open IBS low cost housing system funded by Ministry of Higher Education Malaysia (MOHE). Academically, he has been with UTM since 1988 and promoted as full Professor on the historic Beijing Olympic opening day (080808). To date, he has graduated 40 PhD and MPhil students and currently supervising another 7 students. He earned his PhD from University of Manchester in 1997 and BArch from The University of Miami, Florida, USA in 1987. He pledges to continue crusading green and sustainable development agenda that is appropriate to the Tropical context through involvement in teaching, research, consultancy and postgraduate supervision. He extends his consultancy services beyond architecture and sustainability to facilitating strategic ideas, strategic initiatives and business planning as well as curriculum review workshops. Currently, he is also MalaysiaGBC Southern Chapter’s Chairman.

Message from DVDC

Hi all…


News & Events

4 February 2021- UTM WAQF Distribution.  The program was completed by Yg. Bhg Datuk Vice Chancellor accompanied by Yg. Bhg Deputy Vice Chancellor Development distributed donations at Chancellery Building.

Units, centres and offices, which are directly under the responsibility of the Office of the DVC Development, are as follows:

  • The Office of Campus Sustainability (OCS)
  • The Office of Occupational Safety, Health and Environment (OSHE)
  • The UTM University Community Transformation Centre (UCTC)
  • The UTM Equine Centre
  • Scholar’s Inn UTMJB
  • The Endowment Unit
  • The University Business Development Unit

Chairmanship of University Committees

  1. The Senate Committee on Library and Educational Resources
  2. The Senate Committee on Community Engagement and Industry Linkage
  3. The University Committee for Financial Sustainability
  4. The University Committee on Finance & Accounts (Alternate Chair)
  5. The University Committee on Procurement (Alternate Chair)
  6. The Divisional Budget Committee
  7. The University Committee on Surcharge
  8. The University Management Committee on Endowment
  9. The University Committee on Asset Management
  10. The University Committee on Space Utilisation
  11. The University Committee on OSHE
  12. The Human Resource Committee for Non-Academic Staff
  13. The Committee on Staff Competency Assessment
  14. The Select Committee for Management & Professional Posts (Grade 44 and above)
  15. The Campus Sustainability Committee
  16. The University Council for Sustainability (Alternate Chair)
  17. The PEMUDAH Committee
  18. The Main Committee on Citra Karisma (Staff Recognition & Awards)
  19. The University Disciplinary Committee for Non-Academic Staff
  20. The International Johor Horse Show Working Committee
  21. The University ICT Technical Committee
  22. The University ICT Council (Alternate Chair)
  23. The University Committee on the Management of Movable Assets
  24. The University Energy Management Committee

Membership of University Committees

  1. Member, The University Senate
  2. Member, The University Management Committee (JPU)
  3. Member, Board of Directors, UTM Holdings
  4. Member, Board of Directors, UnitechnologiesSdn. Bhd. (UTSB)
  5. Member, Board of Directors, UTMSpace Services Sdn. Bhd.
  6. Member, Board of Directors, University-Shop Sdn. Bhd.
  7. Member, The Board Committee on Risk Management
  8. Member, The University Endowment Committee of Trustees
  9. Member, The Board of Trustees for Yayasan Raja Zarith Sofia Negeri Johor
  10. Alternate Member, The University Select Committee on Appointment of Chair and Posts of Registrar, Bursar and Chief Librarian (Senate Representative)
  11. Member, The Business Strategy and Risk Management Committee (UTM Holdings)
  12. Member, The University Advisory Committee for UTM Academic Leadership (UTMLead)
  13. Member, University Select Committee on Award Recipient of Honorary Doctorate and Emeritus Professorship